Every second person suffers from stress! The report on stress from the German Federal government, which involved 17,000 participants, proves what we have always sensed. Every second person complains that stress keeps increasing all the time in our society. The internationally renowned World Health Organisation (WHO) also describes stress as one of the biggest problems of the 21st century. The causes are diverse. Situations in which we feel under stress are especially:

  • multi-tasking or multiple pressures
  • permanent pressure to perform and meet deadlines
  • constant interruptions in our tasks
  • monotonous and dreary work

What happens inside our body under stress?

Wissenschaft-Bild

Stress is not a purely mental problem. Anyone who has experienced stress knows that stress also has physical manifestations. Every stressful situation, no matter how short or long, has a critical impact on our bodily processes and functions.

back

Our body works rather like a power station

Wissenschaft-Bild

Imagine that your body works like a power station constantly producing energy. As in all production systems, waste products such as harmful substances are produced along with the desired energy. When the power station works at the normal level, all the harmful substances can be fully reduced. But if the machines are permanently overheated, more harmful substances build up than can be reduced. Resulting in lower performance.

In stressful situations the power stations in our cells, or what we call mitochondria, have to produce far more energy than under normal stress conditions. As a result, the amount of waste products generated during the production of energy also jumps. These waste products are called free radicals. Under normal conditions the body is able to completely neutralise these free radicals quickly. Under stress, however, the number of free radicals increases so much that the body is no longer able to neutralise them.

If they are not neutralised, the free radicals attack our cells and cell structures. The cell is destroyed and is therefore unable to produce energy any more. When this condition persists, it has extreme effects on our body.

The consequences for our physical and mental capabilities are reduced energy production, meaning we get tired and exhausted more quickly and cannot concentrate so well. back

Bodily processes under normal conditions:

In the normal state the mitochondria in our cells produce both energy and waste products – so-called free radicals. These are completely eradicated quickly by antioxidants.

Wissenschaft-Bild
  • Die The mitochondria are the power stations of our cells.
  • Free radicals are the waste products of energy production.
  • Antioxidants eradicate them quickly.
back

Physical reactions in stress situations:

Under stress our cells have to produce increasing amounts of energy. In the process, more or more waste products are produced. The body can no longer eradicate them fast enough. The free radicals then attack the cells, thereby reducing their energy production or even destroying them altogether.

  • Under stress conditions more,free radicals are produced than can be eradicated by antioxidants.
  • They attack the cells and prevent further production of energy
An excess of free radicals in the body is known as oxidative stress. back

Oxidative stress is detrimental for the body and mind

This oxidative stress is one of the main damage mechanisms at the level of cells and molecules. For us, some of the manifestations of stress symptoms are:

  • Poor concentration,
  • Tiredness or lack of energy,
  • Sleep disorders,
  • Sweating and inner anxiety.

Oxidative stress makes us age much faster and can lead to physical disorders over the long term.

Over the long run oxidative stress reduces physical performance!

Chronic oxidative stress can cause inflammations. Cells suffer permanent damage, which can ultimately affect whole organs. Inflammations are one of the main causes of and bases for secondary illnesses.

Wissenschaft-Bild
  • Vascular damage and vasculitis can lead to poor circulation.
  • Heart diseases, Alzheimer's disease or cancer – an imbalance in the proportion of free radicals encourages and contributes to the development of all of them.

Then there is the unholy alliance between stress and excess weight. It is not just that the body gains weight more quickly under stress hormones. When we are under stress, we also tend to have a poorer diet. The stress hormone cortisol, for example, shifts fat to the abdomen from other parts of the body and causes fluctuating blood sugar levels and increased insulin levels. All factors which lead to long term weight gain.

Stress also has an impact on the psyche!

Chronic stress is tiring and contributes to feelings of exhaustion. We often develop feelings of anxiety of no longer being able to cope. General listlessness is another typical consequence of stress.

Psychiatric illnesses may also develop if we have a predisposition for them, and these drive us ever deeper into the spiral of stress:

Wissenschaft-Bild
  • Listlessness and states of mental exhaustion
  • Burnout – also known as "exhaustion depression". A condition in which our entire organism, from the cell to the organs and to the mental level is severely affected.
  • Depression. An extreme situation for which treatment by a doctor is essential.
back
Stress TestHow stressed are you? Start now

Did you know ...?

… that our body is not genetically designed for today's much higher demands?

More information

Jeder Zweite leidet unter Stress!Der Stressreport der deutschen Bundesregierung mit über 17.000 Teilnehmern beweist, was wir immer schon gespürt haben. Jeder Zweite beklagt sich darüber, dass der Stress in unserer Gesellschaft immer weiter zunimmt. Auch die renommierte Weltgesundheitsorganisation WHO beschreibt Stress als eines der größten Probleme des 21. Jahrhunderts. Die Ursachen dafür sind vielfältig. Situationen, in denen wir uns gestresst fühlen, sind vor allem:

  • Multitasking bzw. Mehrfachbelastungen
  • ständiger Termin- und Leistungsdruck
  • ständige Störungen bei unseren Aufgaben
  • monotone und eintönige Arbeit

Was passiert bei Stress in unserem Körper?

Wissenschaft-Bild

Stress ist kein rein mentales Problem. Wer schon einmal Stress erlebt hat weiß, dass Stress auch körperlich spürbar ist. Jede stressige Situation, egal ob kurzfristig oder lang anhaltend, wirkt sich entscheidend auf unsere körperlichen Prozesse und Abläufe aus.

zurück

Unser Körper funktioniert wie ein Kraftwerk

Wissenschaft-Bild

Stellen Sie sich vor, Ihr Körper arbeitet wie ein Kraftwerk, das ständig Energie produziert. Wie bei jeder Produktion entstehen neben der erwünschten Energie auch Abfallprodukte, wie z. B. Schadstoffe. Wenn das Kraftwerk auf Normalmaß arbeitet, können alle Schadstoffe abgebaut werden. Wenn die Maschinen aber dauerhaft überhitzt werden, häufen sich mehr Schadstoffe an, als abgebaut werden können. Und damit sinkt die Leistung.

In stressigen Situationen müssen die Kraftwerke in unseren Zellen, die sogenannten Mitochondrien, deutlich mehr Energie produzieren, als unter normaler Belastung. Das hat zur Folge, dass die Menge an Abfallprodukten, die bei der Energieproduktion anfällt, ebenfalls deutlich ansteigt. Diese Abfallprodukte heißen Freie Radikale. Unter normaler Belastung kann der Körper diese Freien Radikale schnell und vollständig neutralisieren. Unter Stress hingegen nimmt die Zahl der Freien Radikale so stark zu, dass der Körper sie nicht mehr neutralisieren kann.

Werden sie nicht neutralisiert, greifen die Freien Radikalen unsere Zellen und Zellstrukturen an. Die Zelle wird zerstört und kann so keine Energie mehr produzieren. Hält dieser Zustand länger an, hat dies extreme Auswirkungen auf unseren Körper.

Die Folgen für unsere körperliche und geistige Leistungsfähigkeit:
Die Energieproduktion sinkt, wir werden schneller müde, erschöpft und können uns nicht mehr so gut konzentrieren.
zurück

Körperliche Prozesse unter normaler Belastung:

Im Normalzustand produzieren die Mitochondrien in unseren Zellen sowohl Energie als auch Abfallprodukte – sogenannte Freie Radikale. Diese werden von Antioxidantien schnell und vollständig abgebaut.

Wissenschaft-Bild
  • Die Mitochondrien sind die Kraftwerke unserer Zellen.
  • Freie Radikale entstehen als Abfallprodukte bei Energieproduktion.
  • Antioxidantien bauen diese schnell ab.
zurück

Körperliche Reaktionen in Stress-Situationen:

Unter Stress müssen unsere Zellen immer mehr Energie herstellen. Dabei entstehen auch immer mehr Abbauprodukte. Der Körper kommt nun mit dem Abbau nicht mehr nach. Die Freien Radikale greifen nun die Zellen an, so dass diese in ihrer Energieproduktion eingeschränkt oder völlig zerstört werden.

  • Bei Stress werden mehr Freie Radikale produziert, als durch Antioxidantien abgebaut werden können.
  • Sie greifen die Zellen an und verhindern die weitere Energieproduktion
Ein Zuviel an Freien Radikalen im Körper nennt man oxidativen Stress. zurück

Oxidativer Stress beeinträchtigt Körper und Geist

Oxidativer Stress ist ein wesentlicher Schädigungsmechanismus auf der Ebene der Zellen und Moleküle. Wir bemerken die Stresssymptome z.B. als

  • Konzentrationsschwäche,
  • Müdigkeit oder Energielosigkeit,
  • Schlafstörungen,
  • Schwitzen und innere Unruhe.

Er lässt uns auch deutlich schneller altern und kann langfristig zu körperlichen Erkrankungen führen.

Dauerhaft mindert oxidativer Stress die körperliche Leistungsfähigkeit!

Chronischer oxidativer Stress kann Entzündungen hervorrufen. Zellen werden dauerhaft geschädigt, was sich schließlich auf ganze Organe auswirken kann. Entzündungen sind eine der Hauptursachen und der Grundstein für viele Folgeerkrankungen:

Wissenschaft-Bild
  • Gefäßschädigungen und -entzündungen können zu Herz-Kreislaufschwäche führen.
  • Herzerkrankungen, Alzheimer oder Krebs – sie alle werden von einem unausgewogenen Verhältnis von Freien Radikalen begünstigt und mitverursacht.

Hinzu kommt die unheilige Allianz zwischen Stress und Übergewicht. Nicht nur, dass der Körper unter Stresshormonen schneller zunimmt. Auch neigen wir gerade unter Stress dazu, uns ungünstig zu ernähren. Das Stresshormon Cortisol bewirkt z.B. eine Verlagerung von Fett in den Bauchraum, führt zu Blutzuckerschwankungen und erhöht unser Insulin. Alles Faktoren, die langfristig das Gewicht erhöhen.

Stress wirkt sich auch auf die Psyche aus!

Chronischer Stress ist ermüdend und fördert ein Gefühl von ausgelaugt sein. Es entwickeln sich oft Ängste, es nicht mehr zu schaffen. Auch allgemeine Lustlosigkeit ist eine typische Folge von dauerhaftem Stress

Bei entsprechender Veranlagung können sich auch psychische Krankheiten entwickeln, die uns in der Stressspirale immer weiter abwärts treiben:

Wissenschaft-Bild
  • Antriebslosigkeit und geistige Erschöpfungszustände
  • Burnout – auch „Erschöpfungsdepression“ genannt. Ein Zustand, in dem unser gesamter Organismus von der Zelle über die Organe bis hin zur mentalen Ebene massiv in Mitleidenschaft gezogen ist.
  • Depression – eine extreme Situation, die auf jeden Fall ärztlicher Behandlung bedarf.
zurück
Stress TestWie gestresst bist du? Zum Test

Wussten Sie schon ...?

... dass unser Körper für die heutigen stark wachsenden Anforderungen genetisch nicht ausgelegt ist?

Mehr Infos